APRA Best Country Music Song Award

Winner 2020 +

Congratulations to Tami Neilson, winner of the 2020 APRA Best Country Music Song for her song 'Hey Bus Driver'.

Tami Neilson-graphic-Hey Bus Driver-6Sep

Tami Neilson Winner 2020


With the 2020 Country Music Awards in Gore cancelled due to the Covid19 crisis, the winners were announced live on Radio New Zealand’s Music 101 on 30 May.


Best Country Song went to Tami Neilson for ‘Hey Bus Driver!’.


Taking out APRA’s Best Country Song, Tami Neilson has further cemented her spot as one of New Zealand’s most energetic and diverse country musicians. 

Tami adds this year’s award to an increasingly populated mantel, having previously won Best Country Album four times (2009, 2010, 2012, and 2015) as part of the New Zealand Music Awards,  Best Female Artist at the New Zealand Country Music Awards in 2010, 2011 and 2014, and Best Country Music Song in 2014 for ‘Whiskey and Kisses’ with Delaney Davidson.

Tami, congratulations from APRA and the New Zealand Songwriter's Trust!  


Click here to listen to Tami's winning song 'Hey Bus Driver'

To find out more about Holly visit www.tamineilson.com

The finalists for the 2020 APRA Best Country Music Song Award were: (in no particular order)

•  Tami Neilson for the song 'Any Fool With A Heart'

•  Kaylee Bell for the song 'That Summer'

•  Tami Neilson for the song 'Hey Bus Driver'

Katie Thompson for the song 'West Coast'