MLT Songwriting Award

2021 Finalists

Congratulations to the 2021 finalists

The NZ Songwriters Trust are proud to announce the Top 10 finalists of the MLT Songwriting Award; an award that celebrates the unrecorded songs of NZ & Australia.

The annual NZ Country Music Awards are held in Gore and recognise the best of the broad genre of Country Music in the Southern Hemisphere.
Audiences who gather in the South each June witness the announcement of the Tui for Recorded Music NZ Best Country

Artist, APRA Best Country Song and the MLT Songwriting Award Winner with performances from the finalists for all three awards.

The 10 finalists for the 2021 MLT Songwriting Award are: (in no particular order)

''Imperfect Loverswritten by Mia Jay (Napier

''Look But Don't Touchwritten by Marian Burns (Auckland

''Trouble Finds A Girlwritten by Jenny Mitchell (Dunedin), Tami Neilson (Auckland), Tali Enjalas Jenkinson (Christchurch) and Chris Wethey (Christchurch)

'What It Doeswritten by Micheal Young (Aucklandand Dixie Dolejs (Auckland)

'Alexandra Roadwritten by Chad Robinson (Queenstown)

'Old Bones and New Stringswritten by Carylann Martin (Otaki) and Rod Davis (Karamea)

'Gonna Turn’ written by Nicky Moran (Hamilton)

‘If You Were a Birdwritten by Jenny Mitchell (Dunedin)

‘Downsizingwritten by Eric Read (Pelican Waters, Australia)

'Tired as a Possum' written by Ron Mitchell (Gore)

Songwriting award graphic.png